Child Care and Early Education Research Connections

Skip to main content

Early childhood teacher certification: The current state policies landscape and opportunities

These standards describe what early childhood professionals are expected to know and do with children from birth through age eight, defining essential learning outcomes in professional preparation and presenting a shared vision of excellence. Each standard includes a key element requiring application of knowledge and skills through field or clinical experiences. There are six standards: 1. Promoting child development and learning; 2. Building family and community relationships; 3. Observing, documenting, and assessing; 4. Using developmentally effective approaches to connect with children and families; 5. Using content knowledge to build meaningful curriculum; and 6. Becoming a professional. (author abstract)
Resource Type:
Fact Sheets & Briefs
United States

- You May Also Like

These resources share similarities with the current selection.

Preparing centers and a literacy-rich environment for small-group instruction in Early Reading First preschools


Evaluation: Practical applications for closing achievement gaps


Why families should matter for Early Reading First


Assessing and creating effective preschool literacy classroom environments

Release: 'v1.24.0' | Built: 2023-01-23 14:56:35 EST