Child Care and Early Education Research Connections

Skip to main content

Trends in family child care home licensing regulations and policies for 2014

The purpose of this research brief is to report on the licensing requirements and policies for family child care homes (FCCHs) for all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and the two U.S. Territories that responded to the survey--Guam and the Virgin Islands. The term "State" will be used for all 53 jurisdictions. In addition to the two Territories, Idaho was added to the Child Care Licensing Study data for the first time as it has now promulgated statewide licensing requirements. States may define FCCHs differently in their licensing requirements. For the purpose of categorizing the types of FCCH settings States regulate, the following definition from the CCDF Final Rule is used: One individual who provides child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, as the sole caregiver, in a private residence other than the child's residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parent(s)' work. In other research briefs in this series, licensing requirements and policies for child care centers and group child care homes are addressed. Using data compiled from state child care licensing regulations and the results of NARA's survey of state licensing agencies, NCCCQI conducted an analysis that examines the state of licensing in 2014 and identifies trends that have become apparent during several years of data collection. (author abstract)
Resource Type:
Reports & Papers
United States
State(s)/Territories/Tribal Nation(s):
Alabama; Alaska; Arizona; Arkansas; California; Colorado; Connecticut; Delaware; District of Columbia; Florida; Georgia; Guam; Hawaii; Idaho; Illinois; Indiana; Iowa; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maine; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Minnesota; Mississippi; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; Nevada; New Hampshire; New Jersey; New Mexico; New York; North Carolina; North Dakota; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; South Carolina; South Dakota; Tennessee; Texas; U.S. Virgin Islands; Utah; Vermont; Virgin Islands; Virginia; Washington; West Virginia; Wisconsin; Wyoming

- You May Also Like

These resources share similarities with the current selection.

Trends in group child care home licensing regulations and policies for 2014

Reports & Papers

Trends in group child care home licensing regulations and policies for 2011

Reports & Papers

Trends in child care center licensing regulations and policies for 2014

Reports & Papers
Release: 'v1.58.0' | Built: 2024-04-08 08:44:34 EDT