Child Care and Early Education Research Connections

Skip to main content

Quality rating and improvement system quality standards websites

Quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) quality standards are used to assign ratings to programs that participate in QRIS, providing families and the public with information about each program's quality. States typically use licensing standards as the starting point, or base, of the system, on which higher levels of quality standards are built. Every QRIS contains two or more levels of standards beyond licensing, with incremental progressions to the highest level of quality as defined by the state. Systems vary in the number of levels and number of standards identified in each level. The types of standards used by QRIS to assign ratings are based on research about the characteristics of programs that produce positive child outcomes. The following table provides the websites for states' QRIS standards compiled by the National Center on Early Childhood Quality Assurance (ECQA Center). States often have multiple sets of standards for specific types of early care and education providers, such as child care centers, family child care (FCC) homes, and school-age programs. (author abstract)
Resource Type:
Fact Sheets & Briefs
United States

- You May Also Like

These resources share similarities with the current selection.

A quality rating and improvement system for Connecticut: QRIS Workgroup final report: June 2014

Reports & Papers

Quality rating and improvement system quality standards web sites


Assessment in quality rating & improvement systems

Fact Sheets & Briefs
Release: 'v1.54.0' | Built: 2024-02-19 12:13:38 EST