## **CCDF Policies Database 2018 Fact Sheets**

## **Alt Text for Map and Chart**

## State/Territory Healthy and Safety Requirements Policies for Unlicensed Home-Based Providers (2018)

Alt Text: This map shows whether the 56 US states, territories, and outlying areas require unlicensed home-based providers to complete health and safety checklists. As of October 1, 2018, 53 states and territories require a health and safety checklist. Twenty states and territories require providers to self-complete a checklist: California, Connecticut, DC, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Thirty-three states and territories require a health and safety checklist to be completed through a home visit or inspection: Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virgin Islands, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Two states and territories do not require a health and safety checklist: Alabama and Washington. One state (North Carolina) does not allow unlicensed home-based providers to provide care through the subsidy program.

## State/Territory Training Policies for Unlicensed Home-Based Providers (2018)

Alt Text: This bar graph shows whether the 56 US states, territories, and outlying areas require unlicensed home-based providers to have CPR and first aid training. As of October 1, 2018, 44 states and territories require CPR training and 43 states require first aid training. Five states and territories require at least one person on site to have CPR training: American Samoa, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, and Virginia. Thirty-three states and territories require CPR training for the provider only: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, Northern Mariana Islands, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, and Wyoming. Six states and territories require CPR training for the provider and others: Arizona, Guam, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, and Wisconsin. Four states and territories require at least one person on site to have first aid training: American Samoa, Arkansas, Idaho, and Virginia. Thirty-three states and territories require first aid training for the provider only: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, Northern Mariana Islands, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Six states and territories require first aid training for the provider and others: Arizona, Guam, Indiana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, and New Mexico.